Maiyas Shop

These past two months I have visited a local office to get various paperwork in order, a friend traveled with me one day and introduced me to a coffee/tea snack shop that makes coffee the traditional South Indian coffee , the simplest way to explain is the coffee and made to steep overnight (Wikipedia has a longer explanation under the title of “Indian filter coffee”) when you order the coffee or tea, it is pour 1/2 or so in a cup then boiling hot milk is then added to make a perfect balance of flavor.

The first visit with my friend she ordered coffee (you add your own sugar) which was some of the best I have had in such a long time. My second visit I ordered tea and exceeding my expectation was the flavor of the tea, it is strong but it is not bitter or overpowering, it is an art to achieve that perfect balance where the tea is not to powerful and the perfect amount of milk enhances the flavor of the tea.

It is shop that offers snacks, there are chairs standing room only as with so many shops in India right next door is a store which sells any sweet you can think of, which I did not partake in but I did browse.

The location of the shop is No 549/E Double Road near CMH Road, ground floor, next to HBSC bank, Indiranagar 1st stage. If you are in the area, you have to try the tea or coffee (your preference) or both it is definitely worth it. I did not try any of the snacks.

The only downfall is there are chairs to sit, since it is so close to the intersection of CMH on Double Road, you can enjoy as I did sipping tea while people watching but usually I prefer to sit while doing it but it is place for a quick pick me up if you are short on time and don’t want the hassle of a table, ordering, wait staff, etc.

Definitely recommended.

Leave a Reply

