Cafe Cerrise

Before I left Bangalore, lunch with a friend revealed two new restaurants for enjoyment, one of which we will review here today. We visited the restaurant, Café Cerrise, a quaint 7-9 table open air patio restaurant. The tables were under an awning type covering and very simple decorations it gave a light and fresh experience.

Café Cerrise is located housed next to a nursery, which you walk through a nursery path to enter the Café, you also pass an older restored home housing Ambara, an organization that sustains original tribal work. Ambara’s Facebook page description is “One of Bangalore’s foremost lifestyle Stores reflecting a passion for excellence while promoting India’s rich heritage in design, textiles, art & craft.”

To continue on with the Café review for lunch, I ordered ice tea (unsweetened, my preference) chicken quesadilla which was served with tomato salsa. All of the food at Café Cerrise is homemade, which is important to me.

The breakdown of lunch is as follows, the ice tea was a touch bitter I find without sugar there is a delicate balance you have to achieve, the quesadilla consisted of what seemed to be grilled vegetables and chopped chicken, very different but great flavors which I enjoyed. However I did not favor the salsa had a tad sweetness to it, so I confess I am not a sauce person, I don’t believe in this case but it mask the flavor of the food, okay I confess I am a sauce snob and typically sauces on the side or I will scrape it off to taste the protein before I will eat the dish as presented.

The best part of lunch for me was dessert, in my world dessert first but usually I refrain, so I was already sold on dessert when I saw the dessert sign since it had been some time since I had last indulged, I could not pass up the opportunity. My favorite, Panna Cotta with Caramel Sauce, I sing a couple of notes even typing the name and as usual I request the sauce on the side and my dessert comes in a little screw top container, ah the caramel sauce well again I taste it alone and its good, I taste with the panna cotta and yes it taste good. But there is nothing like a plain panna cotta the flavor is incredible with a flavor of fresh cream, it smooth and creamy, not overly sweet (thankfully) or excess gelatin.  I enjoy every spoonful until I scrape the side of the glass container. This is probably one of the freshest panna cottas I have experienced, it taste like it was just made with pure ingredients not overly heavy, laden with sugar or gelatin.

I had one complaint to share with the co-owner; because of the opening of the container I could not lick the remains in the container. I shared my complaint with the owner and found she was co-owner with her husband, they cook most of the food themselves as with all the food it is made fresh they do not keep a large stock on hand. They have a unique desert board and they advertise their BBQ box, where you purchase a box with marinated meat and vegetables packaged for you to cook at home.

The co-owner was also my server she provided good, friendly and inviting service. She was open to sharing behind the scene information and the story behind the Café.

I would definitely return to Café Cerrise and recommend a visit to you, if you enjoy panna cotta I highly recommend it. If the panna cotta plaque is taken off of the desert board that means someone beat you to it and they are out of supply. Take some extra cash Café Cerrise is reasonably priced by Ambara is a little pricey but exquisite saris, jewelry and much more. So when you go and work off your lunch with dessert by visiting Ambara, 3 floors of amazing historical crafted work, some of which is dying out with progress.

“Café Cerrise (+91 80 4164 1430) the garden cafe at Ambara serving continental and eclectic fare between 11 am and 7 pm. Closed on Sundays.  They take credit cards, Visa and MasterCard and also have take away. Café Cerrise does not have a website but they are on FB, also you can find a review, photos and a menu online at, http://www.zomato.com/bangalore/cafe-cerrise-ulsoor/menu

Located at Ambara:#22:Annaswamy mudaliar road: Next to Ulsoor lake, Bangalore, India 560042

 

 

Leave a Reply

